Electronique


International exchange at the Department of Electrical Engineering – Polytech’Nice Sophia

1. General information

International communication skill is now an essential requirement for most technology related engineering degree. Students of Polytech’Nice Sophia have to devote 13 weeks to an international mobility, among which a minimum of 8 weeks have to be spent in an engineering training programme in a way to obtain their Engineering diploma. At the ELEC Department, international experiences can be achieved within student internships (Work Placement, Engineer Assistant, Engineer, section 2.) or by the participation to an exchange programme (ERASMUS, etc., see 3.). Concerning language requirements, the TOEFL test may be required to apply on these exchange programmes (see section 1.2 ).
The international mobility experience is not mandatory for foreign students.
As the ELEC Department can host visiting students each year, parts of the courses in specialization programs may be offered in english (see 1.3 for more teaching language information).

A summary of the links described in this information page is given below:
Description Link
Office of International Relations at Polytech’Nice Sophia web page
Internship abroad: Information database for research web page
Internship abroad: Work Placement web page
Internship abroad: Engineer Assistant web page
Internship abroad: Engineer web page
List of exchange programmes at Polytech'Nice Sophia web page
List of funding opportunities web page
Polytech mobility grants page web
Grants in the frame of a foreign internship (Polytech'13) page web
ECTS and list of Teaching Units in english (semestre 9) web page
Version française de cette page d'information web page

1.1. Organisation and contacts

The office of International Relations at Polytech’Nice Sophia has a general information page at this web page and can be contacted at bri (at) polytech (dot) unice (dot) fr.
It is in charge of an information meeting at the start of the academic year to let students of Polytech’Nice Sophia know the schedule and procedure of applications. Applications to the partner university take place a bit later. Each exchange programme has its own rules and timelines.
It is only possible to apply to exchange programmes that are compatible with the competences of the ELEC department, in the list given in section 3.1.
It is the responsibility of leaving students to inform the following supervisors (when concerned) for a successful management of the teaching constraints resulting from their stay abroad:
  • International Relations manager for the ELEC Department : Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Principal study manager : Vincent Granet (ELEC3), vincent (dot) granet (at) unice (dot) fr, William Tatinian (ELEC4, ELEC5), william (dot) tatinian (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Specialisation Programme managers :
    • CCS - Design of Electronic Circuits and Systems : Philippe Lorenzini , philippe (dot) lorenzini (at) polytech (dot) unice (dot) fr
    • GSE - Embedded Systems Engineering : Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr
    • TR - Networks and Telecommunication : Robert Staraj, robert (dot) staraj (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Internship managers :
    • Work Placement : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr
    • Engineer Assistant : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr
    • Engineer : Fabien Ferrero, fabien (dot) ferrero (at) unice (dot) fr

1.2. TOEIC, TOEFL, IELTS

Most exchange programmes demand standard English test requirements that are based on TOEFL and IELTS. The official English test standard at Polytech’Nice Sophia is TOEIC. As a result, students may need to anticipate the TOEFL test to be able to apply on most exchange programs. There are services to attend TOEFL test sessions, ask for information to your english teacher for further information.

1.3. Teaching language in Specialisation Programmes

Hosting visiting students at Polytech’Nice Sophia imply that some courses can be offered in English. This will concern more especially some among the teaching modules at the end of the engineering programme (semester 9). In the four possible Specialisation Programmes (CCS, GSE, TNS, TR), some courses will be opened to visiting students and can be offered in English. The complete list of teaching modules in English is available at this web page. If at least one visiting student attends a teaching unit in this list, this module will be delivered entirely in English (lectures, labs, examinations), otherwise it will be delivered in French.

2. Do an internship abroad

Internships are another opportunity to fulfill with the requirement to spend 13 weeks abroad. Foreign Internships in the frame of Work Placement, Engineer Assistant and Engineer internships can also be validated for the 8 weeks requirement to attend an engineering training programme abroad.
An information database is available to help you search an internship abroad (which is highly recommended because it allows to fulfill both international mobility and intership obligations at the same time) at this web page. A students from ELEC4 is in charge with database support for the current academic year. You must contact him to get a login / password. You are also requested to send him the contact of foreign companies that you might find during your own search for internships, in a way to keep the information base relevant and useful.

2.1. Work Placement (to discover the business world)

The minimum duration of a Work Placement internship is 4 weeks. As one goal is to get introduced with industrial concerns, it is a good opportunity for training and learning workplace experience in a foreign company. More information on international internship is available at this web page.
Contact : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr

2.2. Engineer Assistant internship

The minimum duration of an Engineer Assistant internship is 8 weeks.
One goal of this internship is to gain experience at a qualified Assistant level in your field of study. Application for funding is possible with Polytech’13 internship grants, but the number of grants is limited. A necessary condition is to complete an internship within a minimum period of 12 weeks in Europe. If you wish to realize the total duration of your experience abroad in the frame of your internship, it must comply with afore-mentioned conditions (13 weeks in Europe, among which 8 have to be spent in engineering training programme). More information is available at this web page.
Contact : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr

2.3. Engineer internship

For the ELEC Department, the final Engineer internship starts at the beginning of semester 10 (early february).
Students can also complete their engineer internship abroad. The duration is between 5 and 6 months, which let the opportunity to apply to different grants for international mobility support.
Funding can be based on Polytech’13 internship (ERASMUS), MESR (Ministry of Higher Education and Research) and regional (PRAME) grants. Non-cumulative and personal financial capacity requirements may exist for funding allocation, more information can be found at this web page.
Students having spent a semester or internship abroad can present their thesis defense until late October (instead of september, usually).
Contact : Fabien Ferrero, fabien (dot) ferrero (at) unice (dot) fr

3. Outgoing students

There are different opportunities to achieve 13 weeks international mobility experience : exchange programmes (ERASMUS, etc), do an internship abroad (Work Placement, Engineer Assistant, Engineer) or attend an official foreign university event (e.g. summer school).
At the end of your Engineer internship, the majority of students should have completed their international mobility. For those who didn't fulfil this mobility obligation, students who are potentially graduated after their final internship will be given a temporary graduation certificate with a period of two years for final validation of their international mobility (this rule is the same for english level TOEIC validation).

3.1. Exchange programmes

You must define a Learning Agreement of 30 ECTS corresponding to the semester programme you are about to miss at Polytech. This programme must be defined with the Specialisation Programme manager and the International Relations manager who must approve and sign the list of courses attended.
Among the different steps of the application process for an exchange programme, it is the responsibility of leaving students to inform the concerned representatives of the ELEC department of their mobility (International Relations manager, Principal study manager, Specialisation Programme managers, Internship managers when concerned) and all professor concerned with a potential absence to an examination, at least three months before the departure date.
These requirements are strictly mandatory in order to conduct the organisation of specific examinations if needed, for example when a student leaves before the official end date of an academic semester. Failure to comply with this information requirement will incur a penalty in each examination missed ('0' score for the examination).
It is also the responsibility of the leaving student to reply any email request issued by a representative of the ELEC department, for all the duration of mobility.

If the mobility dates overlap the period of semester 10:
  • You must inform the representatives of the ELEC department of your departure date at least three months before. You must be present at Polytech until the first week of January (included) in order to pass all examinations before leaving abroad.
  • You must be registered at the office of International Relations one academic year before you leave. For example, if you plan to leave for semester 10 in 2019, you must register at the office of International Relations at the beginning of the 2017-2018 academic year.
  • Outgoing students must define a Learning Agreement corresponding to 30 ECTS, that can include courses different from your Specialisation Programme (CCS, GSE, TNS or TR). These ECTS does not take part in the validation of semester 10 (the 30 ECTS are dedicated to the final engineer internship). The Learning Agreement must be approved and signed by the International Relations manager.
  • Students must imperatively anticipate all application constraints relative to their final Engineer Internship, before their trip back in France. You can usually do this internship from June to October. The final thesis defense must be completed before the end of October in any case.
The schedule for applications and the list of all possible exchange programmes are depicted at this web page.
A list of funding opportunities can be found at this web page.
Applications for Polytech mobility grants are described at this web page.
Applications for foreign internship grants (Polytech'13) are described at this web page.
Contact the Office of International Relations for more information.

3.2. Looking for foreign internships

Looking for an exchange programme or an internship abroad is a similar process and must be anticipated as much as possible. Think first about a country of interest for you in terms of personal preference, attracting University and/or Industries. Don't overlook the possibility to do an internship in a Research Laboratory because they are more likely to hire short term internships. Spend time repeatedly seeking for Companies, Research teams and find the appropriate internship or contact information. Then write a profesional email explaining shortly your motivations for their field of activity with an english copy of your CV.
A list of pointers to foreign internships can be found at this web page. A student from the ELEC4 promotion is in charge with database support for the current academic year. You must contact him to get a login / password. You are also requested to send him the contact of foreign companies that you might find during your own search for internships, in a way to keep the information base relevant and useful.

4. Incoming students

An incoming student must define a list of courses (called Learning Agreement) he attends at Polytech’Nice Sophia. This program must comply with the learning outcomes of the university of origin and is often defined with a representative of the university of origin.
In any case, incoming students following courses at the ELEC Department must provide their Learning Agreement to the representatives of the ELEC Department.
The list of Teaching Units offered in english language, including labs, training and evaluations, and the corresponding number of ECTS can be found at this web page.
If at least one visiting student attends a teaching unit in this list, this course will be delivered entirely in English, otherwise it will be delivered in French. If a visiting student is comfortable enough with the French language, he can choose any teaching unit in the overall list of courses.
It is the responsibility of visiting students to contact the International Relations manager for the ELEC Department (Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr) at the very begining of their stay for information and final validation of their Learning Agreement.
Failure to comply with this information requirement will incur a penalty for each examination missed (zero ECTS).

Electronique


Echanges internationaux au département Electronique – Polytech’Nice Sophia

1. Informations générales

L’ouverture à l’international est aujourd’hui une compétence indispensable à tout ingénieur d’un domaine technologique. Les étudiants de Polytech’Nice Sophia ont l’obligation d’effectuer 13 semaines de mobilité à l’étranger dont un de minimum 8 semaines en filière ingénieur pour valider leur diplôme d’ingénieur. Au département Electronique, ces séjours peuvent se dérouler sous la forme de stages (Découverte de l'Entreprise, Assistant Ingénieur, Ingénieur, voir section 2.) ou de participation à un programme d'échange (ERASMUS, etc., voir section 3.). Outre le TOEIC, le TOEFL est souvent nécessaire pour candidater sur ces échanges internationaux (voir 1.2).
La contrainte de mobilité à l'étranger n'est pas obligatoire pour les étudiants de nationalité étrangère.
Par ailleurs, comme le département Electronique accueille des étudiants étrangers en séjour dans le cadre de ces échanges chaque année, un certain nombre de modules d’option en 5ème année seront dispensés en anglais pour favoriser leur accueil (voir 1.3 pour les modalités de cours en anglais).

Ci dessous un récapitulatif des liens décrits dans cette page d'information:
Description Lien
Service des relations internationales de Polytech’Nice-Sophia page web
Stage à l'étranger: Base d'information pour recherche page web
Stage à l'étranger: Découverte de l'Entreprise page web
Stage à l'étranger: Assistant Ingénieur page web
Stage à l'étranger: Ingénieur page web
Liste des séjours d'étude à Polytech'Nice Sophia page web
Liste de financements possibles page web
Bourses de mobilité Polytech page web
Bourses dans le cadre d'un stage à l'étranger (Polytech'13) page web
ECTS et langue des cours d'option (semestre 9) page web
English version of this information page web page

1.1. Organigramme des relations internationales et contacts

Le service des Relations Internationales de Polytech’Nice-Sophia maintient une page d’information générale disponible à cette page web et peut être contacté à l'adresse bri (at) polytech (dot) unice (dot) fr.
Il organise en particulier une réunion d’information en début d’année universitaire précisant le calendrier et les modalités d’inscription pour ce qui concerne les démarches Polytech. Ensuite, il faut candidater à l’université du programme d’échange. Chaque programme d’échange à ses particularités, règles et calendrier.
Il n’est possible de candidater que sur un certain nombre de programmes d’échange (ayant des cours compatibles avec les compétences du département Electronique) dans la liste qui vous est donnée section 3.1.
Vous aurez également à tenir informé les responsables suivants du département Electronique (lorsqu'ils sont concernés) pour la bonne gestion des contraintes pédagogiques liées à votre absence:
  • Responsable des Relations Internationales au département Electronique : Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Direction des études : Fabrice Muller, fabrice (dot) muller (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Responsables d’options :
    • CCS : Philippe Lorenzini, philippe (dot) lorenzini (at) polytech (dot) unice (dot) fr
    • GSE : Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr
    • TNS : Luc Deneire, deneire (at) unice (dot) fr
    • TR : Robert Staraj, robert (dot) staraj (at) unice (dot) fr
  • Responsables des stages :
    • Stage Découverte de l'Entreprise : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr
    • Stage Assistant Ingénieur : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr
    • Stage Ingénieur : Fabien Ferrero, fabien (dot) ferrero (at) unice (dot) fr

1.2. TOEIC, TOEFL, IELTS

La plupart des programmes d’échange se basent sur le TOEFL et l’IELTS pour la justification du niveau d’anglais. Le standard officiel utilisé à Polytech’Nice Sophia est le TOEIC. Les étudiants qui envisagent de participer à un programme d’échange doivent anticiper le passage du TOEFL pour pouvoir candidater. Il existe des possibilités pour participer à des sessions de passage du TOEFL, addressez-vous à un enseignant en cours de langues pour en savoir plus.

1.3. Langues des cours d’option

Les contraintes d’échanges internationaux impliquent que vous aurez à suivre des enseignements en anglais, y compris à Polytech, plus particulièrement en cinquième année. Certains cours d’option sont ouverts aux étudiants étrangers et seront dispensés entièrement en anglais (incluant TPs et examens). La liste complète des cours dispensés en anglais est disponible à cette page web. Si un étudiant étranger choisit un module dans cette liste, il sera entièrement dispensé en anglais (cours, TP, examens), autrement il sera dispensé en français.

2. Faire un stage à l'étranger

Vous avez la possibilité d'effectuer les stages de votre cursus à l'étranger. Les séjours à l'étranger réalisés dans le cadre des stages Découverte de l'Entreprise, Assistant Ingénieur, Ingénieur sont comptabilisés dans les 8 semaines en filière ingénieur que vous avez à passer à l’étranger.
Une base d'information pour la recherche de stages à l'étranger (fortement encouragé puisqu'il vous permet de remplir en même temps les obligations de stages et de mobilité à l'étranger) est accessible à cette page web. Deux étudiants des promotions ELEC (un en ELEC3 et un en ELEC4) s'occupent de maintenir cette base de données pour l'année en cours. Vous devez les contacter pour obtenir les login / mot de passe. Il vous est également demandé de leur envoyer les coordonnées d'entreprises à l'étranger que vous trouvez au cours de vos proppres recherches afin de maintenir cette base d'information.

2.1. Stage Découverte de l'Entreprise

La durée du stage Découverte de l'Entreprise est de 4 semaines minimum. Compte tenu de l'objectif de ce stage qui est de vous familiariser avec le monde de l'entreprise, vous pourrez, en plus d'exercer votre travail, observer les modes de fonctionnement d'une entreprise à l'étranger. Pour plus d'informations sur ces stages, il existe une page web.
Contact : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr

2.2. Stage Assistant Ingénieur

La durée du stage Assistant Ingénieur est de 8 semaines minimum.
Vous devez réaliser une mission technique en relation avec votre domaine d'étude. Pour vous aider financièrement, vous pouvez candidater à l'obtention d'une bourse Polytech'13. Ce nombre de bourses est limité. Une condition nécessaire est d'effectuer votre stage sur une période minimum de 12 semaines en Europe. Si vous souhaitez effectuer la totalité de votre expérience à l'étranger exigée à l'école dans la cadre de ce stage, sa durée doit remplir les conditions énoncées ci-dessus (obligations de séjour à l'étranger 13 semaines, dont huit en filière ingénieur ). Pour plus d'informations sur ces stages, il existe une page web.
Contact : Laurent Labonté, labonte (at) unice (dot) fr

2.3. Stage Ingénieur

Au département Électronique, les stages de fin d’études démarrent au début du semestre 10 (soit début février).
Vous pouvez effectuer votre stage de fin d’études à l’étranger. Le stage de fin d’études a une durée comprise entre 5 mois minimum et 6 mois maximum. Cette durée permet de postuler à différentes bourses de stage d’aide à la mobilité internationale.
Il existe des bourses Stage Polytech’13 (Erasmus), ainsi que des bourses du ministère MESR et des bourses de la région : bourses PRAME. Il existe des critères de non-cumul et des conditions de ressources pour certaines bourses. Voir page web.
Les étudiants ayant fait un séjour à l’étranger (semestre ou stage) peuvent faire leur soutenance de stage fin octobre au lieu de début septembre.
Contact : Fabien Ferrero, fabien (dot) ferrero (at) unice (dot) fr

3. Etudiants sortants

Il existe plusieurs opportunités pour vous permettre d’effectuer 13 semaines de mobilité à l’étranger : les séjours d’étude (ERASMUS, etc), faire un stage à l’étranger (Découverte de l'Entreprise, Assistant Ingénieur, Ingénieur), ou participer à des programmes universitaires internationaux (universités d’été, etc).
Lorsque vous entamerez votre stage Ingénieur, qui marque la fin de votre cursus, la majorité d'entre vous devra donc avoir effectué cette mobilité. Pour ceux qui ne se seront pas acquitté de l'obligation de mobilité avant leur stage ingénieur, les étudiants déclarés admissibles à l'issu du stage auront, comme pour le TOEIC, une attestation provisoire de diplôme et un délai de deux ans pour validation définitive de leur mobilité/TOEIC.

3.1. Séjour d’étude

Vous devez définir un Programme Pédagogique (contrat d’études) équivalent à 30 ECTS correspondant aux programme du semestre de votre absence de Polytech. Ce programme doit etre élaboré en accord avec le responsable pédagogique de votre option et le responsable des Relations Internationales, qui devront par ailleurs valider et signer la liste des cours choisis.
Parmi les démarches qui sont à la charge des étudiants en séjour d'étude à l’étranger, vous devez informer explicitement de votre départ les responsables pédagogiques du département Electronique concernés (responsable des Relations Internationales, directeur des études, responsable d’option concerné et responsable des stages le cas échéant) ainsi que tout enseignant potentiellement concerné par une absence de votre part à un examen, au minimum trois mois avant la date prévue de votre départ.
Ces formalités sont indispensables pour organiser la tenue d’examens spécifiques si nécessaire, par exemple lorsque vous partez avant la fin officielle d’un semestre académique. Tout manquement à ces obligations d’information entrainera une note systématique aux examens non effectués (zéro).
Il relèvera de votre responsabilité de répondre aux sollicitations que l’école pourrait vous envoyer par email, et ce pendant la durée complète du séjour à l'étranger.

Si vous partez dans le cadre d’un semestre 10:
  • Vous devez tenir informé les responsables pédagogiques de votre date de départ, au minimum trois mois avant. Vous devez être présent à Polytech jusqu'à la première semaine de Janvier (incluse) pour passer tous les examens avant votre départ.
  • Vous devez être inscrit au Bureau des Relations Internationales l'année universitaire précédent votre séjour. Par exemple si vous envisagez de partir au semestre 10 2018, il faut vous inscrire au BRI au début de l'année 2016-2017.
  • Vous devez définir un Programme Pédagogique (contrat d’études) équivalent à 30 ECTS, qui pourra inclure des matières différentes du programme de votre option. Ces ECTS n'interviennent pas dans la validation du semestre 10 (les 30 ECTS sont entièrement dédiés au stage de fin d'études). Le programme pédgogique doit etre validé et signé par le responsable des Relations Internationales.
  • Vous devrez aussi anticiper les démarches de stage de fin d’études avant votre retour en France, que vous devez effectuer dans la période Juin – Octobre. La soutenance de stage ingénieur doit impérativement s’effectuer avant la fin du mois d’Octobre dans tous les cas.
Le calendrier et la liste de tous les échanges possibles à Polytech'Nice Sophia est disponible à cette page web.
Une liste des financements possibles pour les séjours d’étude est disponible à cette page web.
Différents dossiers de demande de bourse de mobilité Polytech sont disponibles à cette page web.
Des demandes de bourses dans le cadre d'un stage à l'étranger (Polytech'13) sont disponibles à cette page web.
Vous pouvez contacter le Bureau des Relations Internationales pour en savoir plus.

3.2. Recherche de stage à l’étranger

Les recherches de séjours ou de stages à l'étranger se déroulent de façon similaire et doivent être anticipées au maximum. Pensez d'abord à une destination qui vous intéresse en termes de préférence personnelle, Université ou pôle d'activités industrielles attrayantes. Ne négligez pas la possiilité de faire un stage en Laboratoire de Recherche car ils sont plus susceptibles de recruter des stages de courte durée. Passez du temps régulièrement à la recherche de sociétés et d'universités et relevez les pages consacrées aux stages ou les informations de contact. Envoyez ensuite un email professionel expliquant brièvement vos motivations pour le domaine d'activité avec une copie de votre CV en anglais.
Une liste de liens pour recherche de stages à l’étranger est disponible à cette page web. Deux étudiants des promotions ELEC (un en ELEC3 et un en ELEC4) s'occupent de maintenir cette base de données pour l'année en cours. Vous devez les contacter pour obtenir les login / mot de passe. Il vous est également demandé de leur envoyer les coordonnées d'entreprises à l'étranger que vous trouvez au cours de vos proppres recherches afin de maintenir cette base d'information.

4. Etudiants entrants

Tout étudiant visiteur doit définir une liste de cours qu’il va suivre à Polytech’Nice Sophia. Ce Programme Pédagogique (contrat d’études) doit être compatible avec la formation originale de son université et est souvent défini avec les responsables pédagogiques de l’université d'origine.
Dans tous les cas, tout étudiant entrant suivant des cours du département Electronique doit transmettre son Programme Pédagogique aux responsables pédagogiques du département Electronique concernés.
La liste des modules dispensés en anglais (incluant TPs, TDs et évaluations) ainsi que le nombre d’ECTs correspondant est disponible à cette page web.
Si vous choisissez un module dans cette liste, ils seront entièrement dispensés en anglais (cours, TP, examens), autrement ils seront dispensés en français. Si vous êtes suffisamment à l’aise en langue française, vous pouvez choisir n’importe quel autre cours dans votre Programme Pédagogique.
Parmi les démarches qui sont à la charge des étudiants entrants, il doivent contacter le Responsable des Relations Internationales au département Electronique(Sébastien Bilavarn, bilavarn (at) unice (dot) fr) dès leur arrivée pour information et validation finale de leur programme pédagogique.
Tout manquement à ces obligations d’information entrainera une note systématique pénalisante aux examens non effectuées (zéro ECTS).